I can see!

“The man replied, ‘I don’t know if he is a sinner or not. All I know is that I used to be blind, but now I can see!”  John 9:24-26

To be honest, most people who know me think I am like Mary Poppins — practically perfect in every way.  However, I have one flaw that is not that easily discerned.  I am virtually blind as a bat.  I only know that the first letter on the eye chart is an E because  it always is.  Only contact lenses have enabled me to continue to perpetuate for all these years the illusion that Poppins and I are nearly perfect.

To borrow from Lady Gaga (something I hope to never do again), I was born this way.  However, my poor vision was not discovered until I was learning to read in the first grade. I was riding in the car with my parents and anxious to show off what I had learned., so my parents started pointing out signs for me to read.  When I couldn’t even tell it was a Holiday Inn, let alone if there was any vacancy, I was shipped to the eye doctor.

I have a distinct memory of the first time I put on my new glasses.  I was standing in our kitchen.  The first thing I laid my eyes on was a Rainbow Bread sack.  Presumably because of its name, Rainbow Bread came wrapped in a white sack dotted with bright red, blue and yellow circles.  I will never forget looking at that sack. What had before been merely a fuzzy blur was suddenly transformed.  Now what I saw was sharp and vivid.  Each brightly colored circle snapped into clear focus.  Those glasses literally changed everything for me.

That is really not a bad metaphor for what it is like to come to faith in Christ.  Before, everything is a blur.  Nothing really seems to make sense.  We are like a blind man.  We stumble and fumble in the dark, trying to discern where things are – where we are.  Then someone turns on the lights.  What was all discombobulated before becomes sharp and focused.  Like me that day in the kitchen, our joyful exclamation is, “I can see!”

Leave a Reply

