All in

The Lord is the stronghold of my life.”  Psalm 27:1

It is common advice not to put all of your eggs in one basket.  When it comes to investing, I suppose that is good counsel.  Diversify.  Spread the risk.  Hedge your bets.

But when it comes to life itself, I recommend just the opposite.  I think the wise thing to do is to put all of your eggs in one basket.  Have only one plan.  Have no Plan B.

That is what King David did.  He talked about it all the time.  He had a simple plan that he applied to basically everything– trust in God.  If enemies attacked, he trusted in God.  If he needed direction or advice, he trusted in God.  The more that it seemed silly to do so, the more insistent he became about doing it.

In Psalm 27, he said, “The Lord is my light and salvation; whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”  This was David’s secret.  He was radically insistent about putting all of his eggs in just one basket.

Paul was the same way.  In 2 Timothy, he described his suffering (which was quite considerable) in this way: “For this reason I also suffer these things, but  I am not ashamed; for I know  whom I have believed and I am convinced that He is able to  guard what I have entrusted to Him  until  that day.”

The funny thing is that those who risk everything on the faitfulness of God are the ones who enjoy the most remarkable peace.  They know whom they have believed.  They know who is the stronghold of their life.  They are all in with God and they wouldn’t have it any other way.

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Ffearandcomfort.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost.php%3Fpost%3D152%26action%3Dedit%26message%3D10&jsref=&rnd=1324192488285

Leave a Reply

